In A Cooking Rut

Also, in an everything rut. Sorry for the elongated absence!

Maya Kosoff
4 min readSep 15, 2021

If you have followed my writing for any length of time you would know that we’re approaching my favorite time of year: When it gets cool enough that I want to cook everything: Making a little braisey stew situation a bit prematurely the day the temperature drops below 50; baking my pumpkin chocolate chip cookies; baking a galette or just frying an egg to eat over rice with some furikake. I spent so much time last year cooking for so many reasons—it saved money, sort of; it was necessary, definitely; it felt like a way to regain some control in a world that was quickly spinning out of my control. It was comforting at a time of immense discomfort.

But now I don’t want to cook anything. The idea of any sort of recipe prep makes me want to cry. I am more than content eating some combination of food elements that could ostensibly resemble a salad out of a large metal mixing bowl. At the end of the work day now I just have no energy for anything, least of all putting together a meal. Also, preparing food would require having an appetite for anything in particular, something I can only summon half the time. I finally understand the Soylent guys and the people who would rather buy a meal square than eat something. Who has the energy to be creative enough to look at a refrigerator full of food and think of a meal? At a time like this? In this economy???

I felt sort of like this after Thanksgiving last year when I declared cooking

--

--

Maya Kosoff

i’m a freelance writer and editor. you can also read me in places like the new york times and vanity fair.